Advertising banner including broken jigsaw pieces in multiple colours



The Australasian Federation of Family History Organisations Inc. (AFFHO) is the umbrella organisation for family history societies in Australia and New Zealand.

AFFHO was established in 1978 to coordinate and assist the work of Australian and New Zealand groups with interests in family history, genealogy, heraldry and related subjects.

AFFHO is managed by an elected Council comprising of a voting member from each state or territory and New Zealand. Councillors are elected annually by the member societies within their region. The Council also comprises non-voting delegates from those states that have a state association. Currently these are NSW/ACT, QLD and VIC.



Membership of the Australasian Federation of Family History Organisations (AFFHO) is a great way for genealogy, family history and related organisations to help foster our hobby or passion in Australia and New Zealand. We do many things, but most people will know that we facilitate our National Genealogy Congresses, and Family History Month each August, including related giveaways. We make Award presentations to notable community members and to good genealogical publications.  We also stand ready to take up important issues as required, and past activities include advocating for changing the Census destruction process to allow census information to be retained, and challenging the Government when they wanted to reduce the amount of marriage data collected. The AFFHO Council have committed volunteers willing to improve our genealogical environment, and new people, issues and ideas are always welcome.

Membership fees are modest, and vary depending on the size of your organisation. Visit our membership page for further information.

National Family History Month

August is designated National Family History Month in Australia and New Zealand (Aotearoa). Each year, AFFHO promotes events relating to family history, genealogy and related initiatives, to encourage our community to explore their family connections. We have a dedicated web site here,, and a Facebook page, We encourage organisations, libraries and Societies to think about holding events during August, and and you all can post details to our Events list on the NFHM website.

Other Activities

  • Newsletter
  • Awards for Individual Service
  • Nick Vine Hall Award
  • Advocate on behalf of the family History Community